Ely Diocesan Synod - Election result for Chairs of The Houses Of Clergy And Laity

Posted on Friday 26 October 2018
Following the recent elections to Diocesan Synod for the 2018 – 2021 triennium, members of Diocesan Synod were notified of the election results for the vacancies of Chair of the Houses of Clergy and Laity of Ely Diocesan Synod at Diocesan Synod on the 20th October 2018.

The House Chairs of Diocesan Synod play an important role in the governance of the Diocese. As House Chairs, they:

  • are involved in planning and agreeing the agenda for Diocesan Synod
  • are ex-officio members of the Bishop’s Council
  • convene meetings of their respective Houses as necessary
  • chair sessions of the Diocesan Synod as agreed with the President
  • act as a senior public representative of the clergy and laity respectively
  • liaise closely together
  • provide advice to the Bishop as required
  • contribute to communication and consultation over national issues
  • act as a point of contact in the networks of clergy and lay people throughout the Diocese, and act as a conduit of concerns from those groups
  • contribute to committees and working groups as agreed 

All members of the Houses of Clergy and Laity of Diocesan Synod (other than co-opted members) were qualified electors for to propose/second possible candidates to these positions. 

Nominations were received, accompanied by signed confirmation of the candidate’s willingness to serve, by the Deputy Diocesan Secretary, Miss Frances Godden, by on Monday 24 September 2018. 

At Diocesan Synod on 20th October 2018, Bishop Stephen welcomed the new Chairs of Houses as; 

  • The Revd Alison Myers - Chair of the House of Clergy
  • Canon Simon Kershaw - Chair of the House of Laity