Keep your Safeguarding training up-to-date

Date: 1st November 2021

The Church of England has introduced a new modular safeguarding training and development programme for use by Dioceses, Cathedrals and Theological Education Institutions.

The programme builds core, generic safeguarding training according to role and through a person's ministry path.

The Church of England Safeguarding Training modules consist of Core Modules; Basic Awareness (C0), Foundation (C1) and Leandership (C2) and Specialist Modules; Safer Recruitment (S1) and Responding to Domestic Violence (S3). (some other modules may also apply on occasion)

The level of the Core Module to which you are expected to undertake will determine which other modules you will need to have previously undertaken. i.e.

  • C0 - if you are only required to undertake a C0 module, you will only need to repeat that training once every three years.
  • C1 - if you are required to undertake a C1 module, you must also have completed a C0 module at least once. You then need to repeat the C1 training every three years.
  • C2 - anyone required to undertake this module must ensure they have also completed a Basic Awareness (C0) and Foundation (C1) module at least once. The C2 module must then be repeated every three years.

Review your training requirement

Help ensure you and your church colleagues are up-to-date with Safeguarding Training.

Visit our website to find out what might be expected of you, and how to book yourself onto an appropriate course -


Category: General Interest


Back To Calendar

Bookmark and Share

We pray to be generous and visible people of Jesus Christ

Ely Diocesan Board of Finance is a company limited by guarantee registered in England and Wales with company number 142183, and a charity registered in England and Wales with Charity Number 245456. The registered address is: Diocesan Office, Bishop Woodford House, Barton Road, Ely, Cambridgeshire CB7 4DX. All rights reserved.