General Synod

The General Synod is the national assembly of the Church of England, commonly referred to as the Church's Parliament.

It considers and approves legislation affecting the whole of the Church of England, authorises new forms of worship, debates matters of religious and public interest, and approves the annual budget for the work of the Church at national level.

More on the General Synod can be found on the Church of England website here.

Following the election count on 14 October 2015, it was announced that the following have been elected to General Synod 2015-2020.

Proctors in Convocation
  • The Revd Mike Booker
  • The Ven Hugh McCurdy
  • The Revd Canon Nick Moir
  • The Revd Simon Talbott

General Synod: House of Laity - Diocese of Ely representation following a casual vacancy

Following the resignation of Mrs Helen Lamb from the House of Laity of General Synod dated 20 July 2017, a casual vacancy arose and the voting has been recounted in accordance with the rules and guidelines issued by General Synod in order to fill the vacancy.

We are pleased to confirm that Mr Richard Morgan was the successful candidate, and that therefore the Diocese of Ely's representatives in the House of Laity for General Synod are now as follows:

  • Canon Janet Perrett
  • Mr Francis Spufford
  • Mr Richard Morgan

A copy of the formal declaration can be viewed here, this has been confirmed by the General Synod Elections Scrutineer.

We note our sincere thanks to Mrs Lamb for her service, and wish Mr Morgan well as he takes on this role.

Notes from General Synod