The Diocese of Ely is one of 42 regional areas of the Church of England. The diocesan map covers an area roughly similar to the county of Cambridgeshire, but also includes some parts of western Norfolk, Peterborough, Essex and Bedfordshire.

Within that area, there are 344 individual parishes. Every parish has at least one church and many parishes also have a Church of England school.

Our church communities exist to serve their parish in all kinds of loving ways. That love is inspired through our Christian faith. Church schools exist to provide education like any other school, but have distinct values drawn from the Christian faith.

We have an exciting, hopeful vision and strategy to help us grow and develop. We created this together to give us direction, right up to the year 2025. Learn more about this.

The Rt Revd Stephen Conway is the Bishop who leads the work of the parishes in this diocese. He has a Seat of Authority at Ely Cathedral. He is responsible for the care and support of all the Diocese of Ely’s ordained clergy and has a part in administering the legal structures they must work within.

Although the Bishop leads and encourages parish work, church communities can also influence the policies and practices of the diocese as a whole. This happens through debate and voting at a large meeting called Diocesan Synod.

Representatives from church communities within the Diocese of Ely can also have a part in influencing the policies and practices of the national Church of England, through General Synod.

The diocese operates within the national structures of the Church of England. For more information about this, visit the Church of England website.

Printer Printable Version
Page last updated: 15th April 2020 4:04 PM
Bookmark and Share

We pray to be generous and visible people of Jesus Christ

Ely Diocesan Board of Finance is a company limited by guarantee registered in England and Wales with company number 142183, and a charity registered in England and Wales with Charity Number 245456. The registered address is: Diocesan Office, Bishop Woodford House, Barton Road, Ely, Cambridgeshire CB7 4DX. All rights reserved.