Diocesan Board of Education

The National Church school system is managed and developed through individual dioceses. Each Diocese has a Diocesan Board of Education (DBE) which is served by a Diocesan Director of Education (DDE) who is the Chief Secretary and Officer of the DBE.

Each DBE must be constituted in accordance with the requirements set down by the DBE Measure 2021.  For the Diocese of Ely, the Ely Diocesan Board of Finance for the Diocese is the DBE for the Diocese.  The role and functions of the DBE are delegated to a statutory committee known as the Ely Diocesan Education Committee (EDEC).

The role of the EDEC is to oversee developments and support schools on a day to day basis.  Members of the Board are either appointed by the Bishop or elected by Diocesan Synod, co-options are also possible. 

The statutory remit of the DBE is encapsulated in the DBE Measure 2021.

Current ex-officio members of the EDEC are:

  • The Rt Revd Dagmar Winter, Acting Bishop of Ely

Current appointed members of the EDEC are:

  • Ven. Dr Alex Hughes, Archdeacon of Cambridge (Chair)

Secretary to the EDEC for the Diocese:

  • Jon Young from Sept 2024 (Director of Education)

Current elected members of the EDEC are:

  • Revd Canon Dr Jessica Martin
  • Revd Michael Bigg
  • Canon Peter Maxwell
  • Mrs Caroline Peet
  • Mrs Anthea Kenna
  • Mr Alistair Day
  • Revd Canon Dr David Karoon

Co-opted members are:

  • Mrs Anne Senior
  • Mr Andi Everett
  • Mrs Isobel Rawlinson
  • Revd Peter Leech
Page last updated: Wednesday 22nd May 2024 2:29 PM
Powered by Church Edit