Pastoral Organisation

The Pastoral Department at the Diocese of Ely undertakes work arising from the Archdeaconry Mission and Pastoral Committees (acting for the Diocesan Mission and Pastoral Committee), most of which relates to pastoral reorganisation.

The Church of England is governed by a number of laws and regulations which provide the framework and processes by which parishes can undertake pastoral reorganisation in order to allow them to work more freely according to their particular needs, and to further both mission and ministry locally.

The key piece of legislation in this area is the Mission and Pastoral Measure 2011, which can be accessed here:

A glossary of some of the terms used can be found via the link here.

The Pastoral Secretary for the Diocese of Ely is Sally Gilson, who is also the Elections Secretary.

Please follow the links to the side for further information about the work of this department. If you have any questions or concerns which are not addressed here, please feel free to contact Sally or your Archdeacon, who will be happy to help.